Shoulder.dev Logo Shoulder.dev

Tests - stefanprodan/timoni

Timoni, a project hosted on GitHub at https://github.com/stefanprodan/timoni/, uses various technologies and dependencies for testing. This explanation will cover the testing framework and provide examples for testing modules and bundles.

Testing Framework

Timoni uses the Go programming language and its built-in testing framework for writing and running tests. The testing framework is part of the Go standard library and is designed to be simple and easy to use.

To run tests, Go provides the go test command, which finds and runs all tests in the current package or a specified file. Tests are typically written in separate files with a _test.go suffix.

Example: Testing a Module

Let's consider a hypothetical module named example in the Timoni project. To test this module, you would create a file named example_test.go in the same package as the module.

Here's an example of a simple test for a function called Add in the example module:

package example

import "testing"

func TestAdd(t *testing.T) {
    result := Add(2, 3)
    if result != 5 {
        t.Errorf("Expected 5, got %d", result)
    }
}

To run the test, navigate to the package directory and execute the go test command:

$ cd path/to/example/package
$ go test

Example: Testing a Bundle

Bundles in Timoni are collections of modules that work together. To test a bundle, you would write tests for each module and then run the tests for each module individually.

Assuming you have a bundle named mybundle that includes the example module, you would write tests for the example module as described in the previous section. Then, navigate to the mybundle package directory and run the go test command for each module in the bundle.

Skipping Tests

Go's testing framework allows you to skip tests using the t.Skip method. This can be useful when certain tests are not applicable in specific situations, such as when running tests in different environments.

Here's an example of skipping a test if a specific environment variable is not set:

func TestSkipIfNoEnvVar(t *testing.T) {
    if _, exists := os.LookupEnv("MY_ENV_VAR"); !exists {
        t.Skip("Skipping test because MY_ENV_VAR is not set")
    }
    // Test logic here
}

For more information on Go's testing framework, refer to the official documentation at https://golang.org/doc/effective_go#testing.

Sources:

  1. Grafana Image Renderer: https://grafana.com/grafana/plugins/grafana-image-renderer
  2. Open Source Testing Myths: https://opensource.com/article/21/8/tackle-test
  3. Java Application Setup Using Kafka Messaging: https://developers.redhat.com/articles/2022/08/04/quick-java-application-setup-using-kafka-messaging
  4. Node.js Test Runner Module: https://sweetcode.io/the-nodejs-test-runner-module
  5. How to Contribute to LLVM: https://developers.redhat.com/articles/2022/12/20/how-contribute-llvm
  6. Detecting Nondeterministic Test Cases in Bunsen: https://developers.redhat.com/articles/2022/06/09/detecting-nondeterministic-test-cases-bunsen
  7. Terraform Acceptance Tests: https://developer.hashicorp.com/terraform/plugin/testing/acceptance-tests/testcase
  8. Automated Accessibility Testing: https://opensource.com/article/23/2/automated-accessibility-testing